It’s time for a change in America…

It’s Time For Change In America…

 

Barack Obama on the cover of Time MagazineWhen Senator Barack Obama took the stage at the 2004 Democratic National Convention, it was evident to me fairly quickly that I was witnessing history. There was enough pre-convention buzz about the senator, of course, but it was upon hearing the moving and poignant speech that Senator Obama gave that day that I realized that the nation had just been introduced to a very special leader.The DNC was my first chance to meet the man who I believe is destined to one day lead our nation. Since then of course, the entire nation, black, white, hispanic and all others have grown to know and respect the Senator from Illinois, because of the work that he’s done for the state and because of the unique message of hope he’s delivered to so many on the national campaign trail.

I am no political pundit; I care deeply about the future of this nation, for everyone in it, so I’ve made it my job to read all I can about as many of the other candidates as I’ve been able to find time for, and you should too. It is critically important that we all get beyond the quickie sound bites and video blurbs force-fed to us by the mainstream media to really understand the candidates, their views, and their vision for this country. When I’d completed my examination of Barack Obama, what I found moved me to start this site. I found that not only does he understand what’s at stake for our country in these turbulent times, but he also has a solid vision for moving us out of the ravages of our blunder in the Iraq, and in a direction that I believe will make our nation stronger, much more resilient, and much safer.

BlackWomenForBarack.com is dedicated to sharing Senator Obaama’s message of hope and change – BWFB will help spread the word, and help educate not only America’s black women, but everyone who believes or is interested in understanding why Barack Obama is this nation’s best chance for a strong and prosperous future. The main goal of this site for sure, is to mobilize the black women of this nation to rally support behind Senator Obama. Black women have a powerful voice, a voice that will be heard on election day 2008. But the site is certainly not meant to alienate anyone, no matter their gender or race. In the end, one of the main reasons why I chose to support Senator Obama is because he in my mind has a better chance at unifying our nation in a meaningful way than does any of the other candidates from either party. And so as a black woman, I desire to draw others into the fold to help join the fight to help the Senator secure the party’s nomination, and hopefully go on to the presidency, but I invite anyone whether you believe what I believe or not, to make your voice heard on this and all other public forums. We must all be ready when the times comes to cast our vote and be heard.

Walk for Change, June 9th

About Patricia Wilson-Smith

Patricia Wilson-Smith is a freelance writer and author of the romantic comedy "Duped By Love". She is a regular contributor to She Unlimited Magazine, and covers special events as a special on-air correspondent.
This entry was posted in The Campaign Trail. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

